Bureau Maurice Tjona Tham Models Crop
We make buildings with character. With timeless beauty and quality. We build with care for people, nature and materials. We make enjoyable buildings that last.

Korteknie Stuhlmacher Architects was founded in 2001 by Mechthild Stuhlmacher and Rien Korteknie. The Rotterdam-based agency has realized a range of projects that, despite their initially limited scale, gained much appreciation and attention in the domestic and foreign press and have been awarded multiple architectural prizes.

All projects combine an integrated sustainable approach with a timeless sense for space, and deep concern about the cultural and physical environment.

In the last years the practice has become an international team of architects focusing on building and research tasks of varying scale and complexity. In the work buildings for education, care, culture and well-being play a central role, as well as (social)housing and private dwellings. Recent project include ambitious restoration, renovation and transformation projects that increasingly deal with building in a complex urban and historical context.

Foto Rien Mechthild Buiten Copy

Rien Korteknie

Rien Korteknie was born in the Netherlands, studied Fine Art in Tilburg and Arnhem, architecture at TU Delft Faculty of Architecture and graduated in 1992. He then worked for several internationally operating agencies in the Netherlands. He is involved in various research, construction and exhibition projects such as Wimby! (Welcome into my backyard- Hoogvliet International Building Exhibition) and the 'SchoolParasites' project. He is a founding partner of Foundation Mevrouw Meijer, a research and consulting organization on educational buildings and was till 2015 involved in numerous activities. In addition, he is a guest lecturer at TU Delft and at various Academies of Architecture and regularly lectures in the Netherlands.

Mechthild Stuhlmacher

Mechthild Stuhlmacher was born in Germany, studied music and architecture in Germany and the Netherlands and graduated from the TU Delft in 1992. Before setting up her own studio she worked at several renowned offices in the Netherlands and London such as Mecanoo, Zeinstra vd Pol, Maccreanor Lavington Architects and David Chipperfield Architects. She was a member of the editorial team of the OASE architecture magazine between 1995 and 2008. From 2004 to 2008 she worked as an editor on two editions of the Flanders Architecture Yearbook. Between 2010 and 2016 she was part of the committee for 'Welstand en Monumenten Rotterdam (committee for architectural quality in the city). Between 1997 and 2022, she has been a lecturer at TU Delft, first at the Interiors Buildings Cities Chair and since 2019 at the chair of Urban Architecture. Between 2016 and 2018, she taught students at St. Lucas, Ghent / KU Leuven in their final year. In 2021 she holds the chair of design and construction 'A13" at the TU Berlin as a guest professor. She regularly conducts workshops and lectures at home and abroad and works with various publishing projects.

ARC22 Awards, 1st prize

Campus Cadix, Antwerp

ARC19 award, Winner category Interior

Predikheren Mechelen

Arie Kepplerprijs 2018, 1st prize

Van Eesteren Paviljoen, Amsterdam

Show all Awards
survey exhibition on the relationship between contemporary design and heritage by Flemish and Dutch architects

As found. Experiments in Preservation.

Survey exhibition in De Singel 

Show all Exhibitions

founded: 2001

staff: 2 partners, 6-10 architecten (incl. young architects during their first 'experience-years': BEP ), 1-3 interns/freelancers

working field: public and private housing, buildings for care, education, sport and culture, transformation, restoration, renovation, urban design, art installation, timber structures

collegial collaborations: Hildundk, München; Bureau Bouwtechniek, Antwerpen; Matthieu Derckx, Amsterdam; landschap Buro Lubbers, 's Hertogenbosch, landschap en openbare ruimte; Bureau Bovenbouw, Antwerpen; Bureau aRCHITEC, Wevelgem; Maccreanor Lavington Architects, Rotterdam/ London; NoA Architecten, Brussel; Callebaut Architecten, Gent; Atelier Arne Deruyter; Palmbout Urban Landscapes Rotterdam; Sergison Bates Architects, London; AHA, Brussels; Stanny van Gysel, Antwerpen; AWG Anwerpen

current staff:

Arne Weiss, Maurice Tjon a Tham, Darlene Tsai, Leonie Boelens, Joppe Douma, Nicky Brockhoff, Ieva Mileika, Veronika Arutiunian, Ewout de Bleser, Paulina Hipp, Jana Scheithauer, Oliwia Tatara, Henrik Holte, Kato Klein Gunnewiek, Femke Vink, Teun van Dillen en Amalie Reventlov Petersen.

staff since 2001:

Marijn Mees, Martin Goldhammer, Christina Linortner, Moritz Bernoully, Jara Baarlink, Nicole Chmielinski, Lena Viterstedt, Daniela Zimmer, Manuel Irsara, Christian Kahl, Uli Gradenegger, Linda Hasselmann, Jonas Labbé, Gerrie Bekhuis, Arne Hansen, Iris Pennock, Tony Nelis, Anne Quack, Carolina Sumares, Ines Guedes, Julia Rubin, Sarah Sternkopf, Marianna Fernandes, Sjoerd de Boer, Andrej Radman, Marc Haller, Marc Encke, Henrike Kortemeyer, Teresa Aguiar, Tom Vandeputte, Helder Costa, Jola Starzak, Max Neustadt, Andreas Schmitt, Ruben Sannen, Taro Yoshikawa, Langzi Chiu, Tiago Lambuca, Sidse Hald, Philipp Schallnau, Lucia Lopez Martín, Lucia Cattalani, Daan Mol, Conca Gene Garcia, Lena Heinkele, Sereh Mandias, Max Niggl, Marius van der Meulen, Rosie Garvey, Elena Lledo, Simon Richardus, Brian Murphy, Cornelia Bräuer, Antonia Reif, Myra Nijman, Mark Jongerius, Jille Koop, Jeanne Autran-Edorh, Karin Houwen, Ainhoa Barrón Redondo, Kristina Grigorjeva, Brendan Spierin, Mark McCormack, Hannah Spasov, Xiangyu Li, Brona Priehodova, Karolina Wrzosowska, Astrid Nieuwborg, Shuyan Lin, Keimpke Zigterman, Titus Lammertse, Nicole Wilke, Christiaan Dorlas, Samuel Us, Bianca Soccetti, Sjoerd Bosch, Ilana Ginton, Laura Gómez Escudero, Lena von Buren, Karel Van Zanten, Kato Klein Gunnewiek, Gaétan Plaieser, Maxim Ross, Tanguy Vanderberghe, Helen Devine, Laura Wiedenhöver, Théo Braekman, Zillah van Opdorp, Keiti Lige, Sem van den Eijnde, Joshua Stevenson-Brown, Lea Scholze, Meitar Tewel, Rutger Brouwers, Mia Barnard, Wouter Mertens, Lucas Antonissen, Maria Ionescu, Elise Laurent, Stanislaus Ruff, Willie Vogel, Iris Licht Pradillo, Max Koenraad, Carine van Hussen, Jan Geert de Bruin.

IMG 0027

OPEM - Open Embassy for Democracy

Building along the Rhine! We proudly share that, together with H+N+S landscape architects, we won first prize in the competition for the former American Embassy Club. Info: www.montag-stiftungen.de

As found

Exhibition in de Singel

With our project the Predikheren we are part of the exhibition 'As Found: Experiments in Preservation.' On display in the Singel in Antwerp until March 17, 2024.

Hof van maasdam

Winning plan for Hof van Maasdam.

Together with our partners Geurst & Schulze Architecten, Pieter Bedaux and Urban Synergy, led by developer VORM, we will be working on the new Rotterdam Park16Hoven district in the near future. More information follows!

Show all news